Àdùnní 💜
3 min readJan 16, 2024

--

I know you wanted to be with me. I saw that through your heart and eyes while they were closed.
If I could buy time, I’d spend all my fortune to get it for you.

My heart dropped so many times as I kept shouting, "God, please don't do this to me.' I cannot take this. Okay, just give her one more year. I promise to use it well."

I asked a million questions but never got the answer I wanted. As I kept weeping, my shirt was soaked with my tears, my eyes were swollen, and my heart raged with bitterness each time your resounding voice echoed in my head.

_"🎶You are important to me. I need you to survive..."_
Each time she sings, all my worries suddenly disappear.

Adeyori, you took a piece of my heart and left without a word. I'd never wanted to write about this, but it's January, your birthday is almost here.

As I sat under the illumination of the moonlight, pointing at the brightest star, it felt just like you. And I'm thinking about what you would have wanted for your birthday. The memories of your soft, perfect hands braiding my hair flashed through my mind, and I giggled with tears rolling down my cheeks.

One of the few times I wished my reality was only a nightmare. I have lived with you so much in my head that I often compare everyone to you.

Silent night, not the regular holy night because all is not calm and bright.

As I wonder if you had my name on your lips when you were closing your eyes for the last time.

Did you silently say, "Cry, but not so loud so you don't disturb others," as you usually tell me when I laugh so loud at your silly jokes?

Adeyori, a perfect breed from God.
An angel to the lowly. The one that God sent to stay beside me whenever things go wrong.
I'm glad that God blessed me with a good friend such as you. A person to be there, a person to get me through.

You never turn away from me. I can't bear to be apart. All the pain and suffering is too much for my heart.

You are my best friend, the one who brightens my day, the one who cheers me up, the one who's here to stay but did not stay long. You always know the funny things to say that makes me laugh my fears away. Like the sun, you brighten my day, my dear Adeyori.

You see all the gifts I deny and urge me to give things a try. You spread for me my wings to fly, always perceiving what I need and offering it before I plead.

Just like a book, you always read my mind.

You value the little things I do but won't brag about what you do too.

Such a beautiful girl, pure in love and heart. How can I ever repay you? I could only wish you stayed to see the world as we had promised, and greatest of all, I have found you.

I can only wish you could be sent on an errand to the world again. I'd give up everything just to be with you when you arrive.

I know you miss me as much as I do because they are all perfect people up there with you and no clown to tease you as I do.

No matter how long it takes, I hope to see you again. Keep singing with the angels. Your voice is the sweetest among them all.

My perfecto,
Adeyori 🥹

--

--

Àdùnní 💜

A Reader, mixing thought like fura and nunu, storyteller and just Àdùnní. mefiefaith55@gmail.com in case you want to write back 😊